h1

NATURAL SELECTION???

May 23, 2012

Two days ago I was unfortunate enough to witness a death.

The event left me incredibly shaken and it made me realize how absolutely stupid people are.

The man who died was stupid and didn’t value his life …

….but I was still sad for him.

I was driving down that new highway that leads to Dome.

It was a little after 10pm….

…. and you all know how there are barely any lights on ANY street in Accra…..

……dare I say Ghana!!

I was driving towards Accra, eager to get home because I was tired as hell.

Ahead of me, there was a yellow van….

….whizzing past as we all do on a highway.

I have a habit of putting my high beams on when I drive on any highway.

It’s so hard to see otherwise.

So I put my high beams on so I could have a better view of the road ahead.

That was when I notice some foreign material being dragged under the van ahead of me.

It looked like a piece of fabric that had been blown onto the road by the wind earlier that day….

….so I dismissed it and continued to drive at the same speed while keeping a safe distance between me and this vehicle.

After about 20 seconds, I noticed the van was still dragging this strange thing along with it as it sped off.

That’s when things got crazy.

Everything happened so fast.

The strange foreign body was actually a human body.

It came detached from the bottom of the van and came rolling towards MY car!!!

All I thought was , “Oh my God! Oh my God! That’s a PERSON!!”

I came to a screeching halt within inches of the lifeless body.

I was stunned!!!

His body was mangled and limbs were facing all sorts of odd directions.

I hadn’t a clue what to do.

So I started to cry.

Please I said I didn’t know what to do!

There was no car behind me so it was safe to be parked for the 30 seconds I was.

Crying like a child…..

….Shaking life a bloody leaf.

It was the scariest thing I had ever seen in my life.

After those 30 seconds….

…I came to my senses and went round the body and drove off.

The van ahead of me….

…the one that had actually hit the guy didn’t even stop or look back.

He just kept going.

I drove in tears the whole way desperately hoping I would come across some policemen.

The days you need them you will NEVER find them!

Never!

The whole time I was still right behind the van.

Eventually he stopped right at the bridge before the Neoplan station.

As I drove past him, I slowed down a bit so I could take a look at his face.

I had never seen anyone look so frightened.

I’m guessing it was the shock and fear that made him drive on without stopping to take a look at this person he had just killed….accidentally.

I turned away and kept driving.

I didn’t find a police barrier till I got to Tesano.

I reported the incident to the men on duty and typically, all I got was…

…..”ooooh!! I’m sure the ambolance will come”

Yes “ambolance”

It will magically find its way to the scene of the accident eh???

Since they weren’t exactly bothered….

…I figured, why am I stressing???

It was just so shocking to see someone die like that.

In retrospect, the victim was a fool to attempt to cross the highway.

I mean how dumb can you be????

In the same vein, I don’t blame him because I’ve said time and again that a large percentage of our population is illiterate.

If we don’t educate them on the right way to do things, we shouldn’t expect much from them.

I know I don’t.

These are people whose “natural habitat” has been altered significantly by this new road.

They are used to a certain way of life.

So if you build this new fancy road and put ONE footbridge over it….

…. this road with no bus stop…..

….expect a lot of casualties!!!

They will continue to live as they did prior to the construction of the road.

It’s not very smart.

The pedestrians aren’t the only problem on that road.

Several times I’ve seen trotro driver stop on the side of the highway to offload and load passengers!

I meaaaaaaan!!!

What kinds of nonsense is this one too???

We need a LOT of education.

We’ve built a big road, but the people who are using the road have small brains so how does this improve our lives??

Every time I drive on that road now I’m going to drive really slow.

I’ll end up annoying a lot of other drivers….

….but I don’t particularly care at this point.(ok I’m lying!)

Seeing what I did scared me.

But you know what?

We could educate these people and they would still do the same thing……

…again and again and again!

So I guess this is nature’s way of selecting only the best.

Anaa?

 

Leave a Reply

